Weed did it! We legalized cannabis in California!
As we all know, the biggest winner on election night of 2016 was cannabis. More people voted for cannabis than did for either presidential candidate. California, Maine, Massachusetts and Nevada legalized cannabis, while Arkansas, Florida, Montana and North Dakota expanded access to medical cannabis.
What does this mean for adults in California?
Adults 21+ may possess, transport, obtain or give away to other adults no more than one ounce of cannabis or 8 grams of concentrated cannabis. Adults may also cultivate up to 6 plants per residence. For a detailed list of important legal information, check out this post from CA NORML.
At this time, a medical recommendation from your doctor is still necessary to purchase cannabis from a dispensary in California. Retail sales to adults were intended to be implemented by January 1, 2018, but many counties across the state are having trouble meeting that deadline.
Over the last year, the BPG team worked closely with our local officials to develop and implement recreational cannabis regulations for our city. We are proud to say that Berkeley is prepared to serve adults on January 1!
BPG is excited to share our professional retail experience with a new set of consumers, and to continue our mission of spreading knowledge about the benefits of our favorite plant.
Furthermore, we remain dedicated to serving our medical patients with the same model of compassion that we’ve been building since 1999. If you are currently a patient, keep reading to learn how to save money with a Medical Marijuana Identification Card (MMIC) next year.
What is a Medical Marijuana Identification Card (MMIC) and how can it help patients?
The MMIC identifies the cardholder as a person protected under the provisions of Prop 215 and SB 420. It is used to help law enforcement identify the cardholder as being able to legally possess certain amounts of medicine.
Medical patients who have a state medical marijuana ID card will be exempt from the state sales tax immediately. If you spend more than $100 per month on medicine, it should pay you to get a state ID card. Under Prop 64, the card fees are capped at $100, and $50 for Medi-Cal patients.
Image: LA Weekly
What do I need to apply for a MMIC?
Qualified patients or caregivers will need to fill out an application form at their county office and provide the following documentation:
- A copy of your doctor’s recommendation
- Proof of identity
- Proof of residency
- Photo taken at county office which will appear on your MMIC
- Application fee
Where do I apply?
You must apply in person at your county’s program office. For our patients in Berkeley, The Alameda County Public Health Department is located at 1000 Broadway, Suite 310, Oakland, CA 94607. To schedule your appointment, call (510) 268-2977.
What happens to my application and other private health information?
The Medical Marijuana Application System does not contain any personal information such as name, address or social security number. It only contains the unique user ID number. When the ID number is entered, the only information provided is whether the card is valid or not.
Do I need a MMIC?
It is not necessary to enroll in the CA state program to enjoy legal status as a patient under Prop. 215. You may still continue to use your valid doctor’s recommendation to obtain your medical cannabis, but you will not be able to purchase medical cannabis without paying state taxes. We encourage all of our patients to obtain an MMIC to take advantage of the legal protections and tax exemptions provided by the card.
Your buds at BPG